Koa Jazz Festival

Born under the impulse of the Collectif Koa, in 2007, the festival was initially called “Meetings Koa Jazz”. Taking place every year in spring, the event has grown and made a place for itself in the cultural landscape of Montpellier, going from a few days to a fortnightly festival.

A single ambition: jazz everywhere and for everyone. Its values? To defend, promote and make jazz and improvised music known to all audiences, through concerts, masterclasses, educational events… and any other activity allowing an awareness of this musical aesthetic.

The Koa Jazz Festival has built its reputation on a varied but always ambitious program, welcoming both emerging and recognized artists, regional, national and international – Magic Malik, Aka Moon, Ambrose Akinmusire, Andy Emler, Thomas de Pourquery, Jim Black, Susheela Raman… to name but a few. Low prices and a location in unconventional places – museums, gardens, train stations – make this festival an event accessible to all audiences.

2017 was the year of the 10th edition. For the occasion, a change was made: the festival was moved from spring to fall, and a new association dedicated to this activity was created.

Learn more

Newsletter

Send

Koa Jazz Festival

Né en 2007 sous l’impulsion du Collectif Koa, le festival porte au départ le nom de « Rencontres Koa Jazz ». Se déroulant chaque année au printemps, l’événement a grandi et s’est fait une place dans le paysage culturel montpelliérain, passant de quelques jours à une quinzaine festivalière.

Une seule ambition : du jazz partout et pour toustes. Ses valeurs ? Défendre, promouvoir et faire connaître les musiques jazz et improvisées auprès de tous les publics, à travers des concerts, des masterclass, des temps pédagogiques et toute autre activité permettant une sensibilisation à cette esthétique musicale.

Le Koa Jazz Festival a bâti sa réputation sur une programmation variée, mais toujours ambitieuse, accueillant à la fois des artistes émergent·es et reconnu·es, régiona·ux·les, nationaux et internationaux – Magic Malik, Aka Moon, Ambrose Akinmusire, Andy Emler, Thomas de Pourquery, Jim Black, Susheela Raman, pour n’en citer que quelques un·es. Des tarifs avantageux et une implantation dans des lieux non conventionnels – musées, jardins, gares – font de ce festival un événement accessible à toustes.

2017 était l’année de la 10ème édition. Pour l’occasion, le festival a été déplacé du printemps à l’automne et a créé une nouvelle association dédiée à cette activité.

En savoir plus

Newsletter

Envoyer