Grand Ensemble Koa

CONTEMPORARY JAZZ ROCK

Grand Ensemble Koa is a large group with an atypical instrumentation and an explosive character. It is 9 musicians, led by the bassist/composer Alfred Vilayleck, who mix jazz and rock, pop and contemporary music, electric and acoustic, improvisation and writing in a style that is their own.

 

Distribution

  • Caroline Sentis : voice
  • Matthieu Chédeville : soprano sax
  • Armel Courrée : alto and barython sax
  • Jérôme Dufour : tenor sax
  • Pascal Bouvier : trombone
  • Killian Rebreyend : vibraphone
  • Daniel Moreau : keyboards, piano
  • Alfred Vilayleck : electric bass
  • Julien Grégoire : drums

Projects

Dance of the Unsubmissives

Dance of the Unsubmissives

Dance of the Unsubmissives is an imaginary dance in which a joyful assembly of uncertain characters rebels against the constraints of our society by dancing and feasting, making the most of the present moment.

BEAT

BEAT

The jazz ensemble from Montpellier follows in the footsteps of Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and William Burroughs. Animated by the pulsations of the literary and intellectual movement of the "Beat Generation", the 8 virtuosos set to music the texts of these anti-conformist poets, carried by the luminous voice of Caroline Sentis.

AHIMSA

AHIMSA

The Sanskrit word Ahimsâ designates, in the religions of India, non-violence and even the absence of any intention to harm.

Koa Roi

Koa Roi

An absurd musical tale, for eleven musicians and a comedian in the middle of a power struggle...

Press review

CULTUREJAZZ – SEPTEMBER 2020
« Asphodel, the first piece, is articulated around the velvety voice of the trombone, the electric bass imposes its rock beat, the vibra pushes the walls of sound and opens the space of the studio and of our heads, the spirit of Pink Floyd comes to take a look when the vocalist is doubled by the chorus of all the others Impressive. »
Alain Gauthier

JAZZMAGAZINE – OCTOBER 2019
« Caroline Sentis opened her voice to modulations similar to trapeze jumps and which rendered, exactly, the rustle of sulphurous tongues emanating from these bodies in furnace that had been the poets of the Beat […]. »
Guy Darol

LES DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU JAZZ – JANUARY 2019
« A brilliant confirmation of Alfred Vilayleck’s talent as a composer and of the musical and instrumental quality of the members of the Grand Ensemble Koa de Montpellier. (…) The quality of the soloists irradiates the improvised spaces, and the collective sense is palpable in the whole course of the CD, track after track. »
Xavier Prévost

Events

Other groups

Kunzit

Kunzit

CONTEMPORARY JAZZ SEXTET
Gratitude Trio

Gratitude Trio

BELGIAN/FRENCH JAZZ
Peemaï

Peemaï

ETHNIC GROOVE
Nefertiti

Nefertiti

illustrated concert for family
Sandra Cipolat Trio

Sandra Cipolat Trio

poetic jazz

Newsletter

Send

Grand Ensemble Koa

jazz rock contemporain

Grand Ensemble Koa, c’est une grande formation à l’instrumentation atypique et au caractère explosif, c’est 9 musiciens, leadés par le bassiste / compositeur Alfred Vilayleck, qui mixent le jazz et le rock, la pop et la musique contemporaine, l’électrique et l’acoustique, l’improvisation et l’écriture dans un style qui leur est propre.

 

Distribution

  • Caroline Sentis : voix
  • Matthieu Chédeville : sax soprano
  • Armel Courrée : sax alto et barython
  • Jérôme Dufour : sax ténor
  • Pascal Bouvier : trombone
  • Killian Rebreyend : vibraphone
  • Daniel Moreau : claviers, piano
  • Alfred Vilayleck : basse, composition
  • Julien Grégoire : batterie

Projets

Danse des insoumis

Danse des insoumis

La Danse des Insoumis, c’est une danse imaginaire dans laquelle une assemblée joyeuse de personnages incertains s’insurgent contre les contraintes de notre société en dansant et en festoyant, en profitant au maximum de l’instant présent.

BEAT

BEAT

L’ensemble de jazz montpelliérain suit les pas de Jack Kérouac, Allen Ginsberg et William Burroughs. Animés par les pulsations du mouvement littéraire et intellectuel de la « Beat Generation », les 8 virtuoses mettent en musique les textes de ces poètes anticonformistes, portés par la voix lumineuse de Caroline Sentis.

AHIMSA

AHIMSA

Le mot sanskrit Ahimsâ désigne, dans les religions de l’Inde, la non violence et même l’absence de toute intention de nuire.

Koa Roi

Koa Roi

Un conte musicale absurde, pour onze musiciens et un comédien en pleine prise de pouvoir…

Dans le journal

CULTUREJAZZ – SEPTEMBRE 2020
« Asphodèle, la première pièce, s’articule autour de la voix veloutée du trombone, la basse électrique impose son beat rock, le vibra pousse les murs du son et ouvre l’espace du studio et de nos têtes, l’esprit de Pink Floyd vient jeter un oeil quand la vocaliste est doublée par le choeur de tous les autres. Impressionnant. »
Alain Gauthier

JAZZMAGAZINE – OCTOBRE 2019
« Caroline Sentis ouvrit sa voix à des modulations semblables à des sauts de trapèze et qui rendaient compte, exactement, du bruissement de langues soufrées émanant de ces corps en fournaise qu’avaient été les poètes de la Beat […]. »
Guy Darol

LES DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU JAZZ – JANVIER 2019
« Confirmation éclatante du talent de compositeur d’Alfred Vilayleck et de la qualité musicale autant qu’instrumentale des membres du Grand Ensemble Koa de Montpellier. (…) La qualité des solistes irradie les espaces improvisés, et le sens collectif est palpable dans tout le déroulement du CD, plage après plage. »
Xavier Prévost

Les autres groupes

Kunzit

Kunzit

SEXTET DE JAZZ CONTEMPORAIN
Gratitude Trio

Gratitude Trio

JAZZ FRANCO-BELGE
Peemaï

Peemaï

WORLD ETHNIC GROOVE
Nefertiti

Nefertiti

concert illustré jeune public

Newsletter

Envoyer