Dance of the unsubmissive

Grand Ensemble Koa

Dance of the unsubmissive is an imaginary dance in which a joyful assembly of uncertain characters rebel against the constraints of our society by dancing and feasting, making the most of the present moment.

It is inspired by the traditional dances and music of the Balkans, with broken yet melodious rhythms; it is at once energetic, powerful and full of mystery, disturbing and full of poetry. It mixes with today’s sounds, electric jazz, improvised rock, luminous voice and chiseled writing for an atypical sound journey in the Balkans.

With this creation, Grand Ensemble Koa proposes a jazz detached from aesthetic constraints, for a symbolic dance in favor of freedom of thought.

Grand Ensemble Koa is a mini-bigband with an explosive and electric character. Carried by the enchanting voice of Caroline Sentis, the group mixes improvisations, contemporary writing and current grooves under the enlightened pen of the bassist AlfredVilayleck.

Distribution

  • Caroline Sentis : voice
  • Matthieu Chédeville : soprano sax
  • Armel Courrée : alto sax and barython
  • Jérôme Dufour : tenor sax
  • Pascal Bouvier : trombone
  • Killian Rebreyend : vibraphone
  • Daniel Moreau : keyboards, piano
  • Alfred Vilayleck : bass, composition
  • Julien Grégoire : drums

Other projects

BEAT

BEAT

AHIMSA

AHIMSA

Koa Roi

Koa Roi

Newsletter

Send

Danse des insoumis

Grand Ensemble Koa

La Danse des Insoumis est une danse imaginaire dans laquelle une assemblée joyeuse de personnages incertain·es s’insurgent contre les contraintes de notre société en dansant, en festoyant et en profitant de l’instant présent.

Elle s’inspire des danses et des musiques traditionnelles des Balkans, aux rythmes cassés et pourtant mélodieux ; elle est à la fois énergique, puissante et pleine de mystère, inquiétante et emplie de poésie. Elle se mélange aux sonorités d’aujourd’hui, jazz électrique, rock improvisé, voix lumineuse et écriture ciselée pour un voyage sonore atypique au cœur des Balkans.

Avec cette création, Grand Ensemble Koa propose un jazz détaché des contraintes esthétiques, pour une danse symbolique en faveur de la liberté de penser.

Le Grand Ensemble Koa est un mini Big Band au caractère explosif et électrique. Porté par la voix enchanteresse de Caroline Sentis, le groupe mixe improvisations, écriture contemporaine et grooves actuels sous la plume éclairée du bassiste Alfred Vilayleck.

Distribution

  • Caroline Sentis : voix
  • Matthieu Chédeville : saxophone soprano
  • Armel Courrée : saxophones alto et baryton
  • Jérôme Dufour : saxophone ténor
  • Pascal Bouvier : trombone
  • Killian Rebreyend : vibraphone
  • Daniel Moreau : claviers, piano
  • Alfred Vilayleck : basse, composition
  • Julien Grégoire : batterie

Autres projets

BEAT

BEAT

AHIMSÂ

AHIMSÂ

Koa Roi

Koa Roi

Newsletter

Envoyer